« presented without commentary. | Main | Happy Birthday, Natalie »

life is like a box of movies

Karaoke for movie buffs:
The brainchild of film-fanatic Anastasia Fite, Movieoke is just what it sounds like: a chance for those brave enough to take over from Robert De Niro in his "You talkin' to me?" monologue in "Taxi Driver," or to strut their stuff alongside Ben Stiller in "Zoolander." ... Guests select a specific scene from a movie that is then projected onto a big screen, while a monitor in front of them shows the scene along with subtitled dialogue.
My life, with a movie screen. I know of many people who are afflicted with the same sickness as me; one that causes you to break out a movie quote for every occasion. Now we can act out whole scenes! So, in the spirit of weekend fluff posting, I ask the question: If you were going to act out a scene from any movie, what movie/scene would it be and which part would you play?

TrackBack

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference life is like a box of movies:

» Affliction from Absinthe & Cookies (a little bit bitter, a little bit sweet)
Michele is afflicted with the "movie quote for any occasion" disease -- something I can relate to! Now she has [Read More]

» Movie-okie from Inoperable Terran
Michele brings news of karaoke with pictures, where you can act out a scene from a movie instead of singing a song. She wants to know what scene in what movie you'd act out in. (I already called dibs on... [Read More]

Comments

I heard about that on the news yesterday and thought it sounded nifty. My sister and I have actually quoted most of Star Wars on a cross country trip, so it's right op our ally!

The scene... Hmm, well, first one that comes to mind would be the scene in Star Wars where they're escaping from the Storm Troopers after busting Leia out of her cell. I would play Leia -- she has such great snarky lines!

here lately it would be the Herb Brooks speech in the locker room before the game vs the Soviets in Miracle.

(or The Breakfast Club, from start to finish, as the entire cast. Or the Star Wars Trilogy...)

All, every blessed word, of Sterling Hayden's ramblings as the unhinged General Jack T. Ripper in Dr. Strangelove, as he explains to Peter Sellers' character why he had to launch a nuclear attack on the Soviets.

"Did you ever see a commie drink a glass of water? No?"

Ok, excluding love scenes....off the top of my head probably Jimmy Stewart's monologue from Harvey where he describes how he met him. Or Cary Grant in North By Northwest when he meets Mr. Van Damme. Or any of Bogart's scenes in Casablanca (or Claude Rains for that matter). But besides those, I can't think of any.

The St Crispin's Day speech from Henry V (the Branagh version). Either that, or the entire Holy Grail, all parts, including the credits.

(Maybe I should just choose a foreign film. No one would know if I was nailing it)

The St Crispin's Day speech from Henry V (the Branagh version). Either that, or the entire Holy Grail, all parts, including the credits.

(Maybe I should just choose a foreign film. No one would know if I was nailing it)

Ghostbusters, all of it, as Pete Venkman. I don't think I'd even need subtitles.

Alternatively, if we're gonna be strict about the one scene thing, Mallrats, the TV show sequence at the end, as Brodie.

I would be Michael Corleone negotiating with the senator in Godfather II.

Here is my offer, nothing.

I'd like to be Winona Ryder in Heathers, responding to the first evil titular character:

H: "I got you into a Remington party, Veronica. And what's my thanks? It's all over the hallway carpet. I got paid in puke!"

V: "Lick it up , baby, lick it up!"

That was some snappy dialogue. My apologies if I fumbled on a word or two in retelling.

" And the Lord spake, saying, 'First shalt thou take out the Holy Pin. Then, shalt thou count to three. No more. No less. Three shalt be the number thou shalt count, and the number of the counting shall be three. Four shalt thou not count, nor either count thou two, excepting that thou then proceed to three. Five is right out. Once the number three, being the third number, be reached, then, lobbest thou thy Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch towards thy foe, who, being naughty in My sight, shall snuff it.'"

I wonder how many Monty Python fans do the movieokie :)

D

Oh, God.

The speech at the end of Things to Come.

I'm such a geek.

1. Rocky Horror. Duh. I'd wager that just about everyone at ASV of a certain age could recite chapter & verse from it.

2. Clint Eastwood in "The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly." Wouldn't be much dialogue, but a whole lotta attitude.

The first meeting of Jim Williams and the New York writer in "Midnight In The Garden Of Good And Evil." Early in the film, it gives a marvelously insight into Williams' character, and sets the tone for the murder and trial that follow.

Stop the World, I want to get off!

FIGHT CLUB! "I am Jack's Complete Lack of Surprise."

Ghostbusters

Rick Moranis as Vince Klortho:

"Gozer the Traveler. He will come in one of the pre-chosen forms. During the rectification of the Vuldrini, the traveler came as a large and moving Torg. Then, during the third reconciliation of the last of the McKetrick supplicants, they chose a new form for him: that of a giant Slor. Many Shuvs and Zuuls knew what it was to be roasted in the depths of the Slor that day, I can tell you."

I am a drama queen and love tormented romance so:
I would be in The Unbearable Lightness of Being as Juliette Binoche, in bed with Daniel Day Lewis (oh yeah!) and say tearfully and outraged:

"your hair! it smells like...a woman's sex!"

The first Mummy movie - Evie's drunken scene by the fire: "I .... am....a...librarian!" Ka-thunk.

But I wouldn't pass out on Brendan Frasier right away. I'd stay awake for just a little bit longer.

Oh! I'd be Maureen O'Hara in just about anything she's ever made (no simpering princess there!)

I'd especially like the Quiet Man... I do a mean Irish brogue...

I'd love to play Johnny Rocco (Edward G. Robinson's part in "Key Largo").

"Public Enemy" he calls me. Me! Me, who gave him his public, all wrapped up with a bow around it! How many of those guys owe everything to me...I made 'em! That's right, I made 'em!...Just like a tailor makes a suit of clothes! I take some nobody, see? Teach him what to say...get his name in the paper...shell out a bunch of money for groceries and coal...get my boys to get everyone to the polls...keep addin' up the votes 'til they add up right...and there he was...he was elected!"

That's easy. I would be the that white band-aid outfit that Milla Jovovich wore in "The Fifth Element."

Roooowwwl!

I'll just be waiting my turn to do pretty much any scene from "Airplane".

The bar scene from Rio Bravo. The role? Heh - Dean Martin, natch. You had to ask.. ? ;]

Arnies as Hamlet in the last action hero

"to be oh nat to be .. vat vas de queztun?"
(Followed by copious quantities of automatic gunfire in a medievil setting)

A true classic........

Oh holy Jesus, without a doubt it'd be about half the Sonny Corleone scenes, but mainly, "I don't want my brother coming out of there with nothing but his dick in his hand."

Edmund O'Brien, The Wild Bunch: "They? They? Who the hell is 'They'?"

Patton. Scene 1.

*** Interior: A large US flag drapes behind an open stage. An Amry band plays Ruffles & Flourishes; GEN. PATTON walks to the stage in full formal uniform, medals dripping from his chest, riding crop in hand. ***

"Now, I want you to remember that no bastard ever won a war by dying for his country. He won it by making the other poor dumb bastard die for his country. Men, all this stuff youve heard about America not wanting to fight, wanting to stay out of the war, is a lot of horse dung. Americans traditionally love to fight. All real Americans love the sting of battle. When you were kids, you all admired the champion marble shooter, the fastest runner, the big league ball player, the toughest boxer. Americans love a winner and will not tolerate a loser. Americans play to win all the time. I wouldnt give a hoot in hell for a man who lost and laughed. Thats why Americans have never lost and will never lose a war. Because the very thought of losing is hateful to Americans."

Right now it would have to be Parker Posey's character in Best in Show.

"That's not a bee! That's a BEAR in a BEE COSTUME!"

G: Drugs?

J: Thank you, no. I'm straight.

G: I meant, are you in here for drugs?

J: Why are you here?

G: Drugs.

J: I don't know why I'm here.

G: Why don't you go home?

J: Why don't you put your thumb up your butt?

[G briefly considers it]

G: There's somebody you should talk to.

J: If you say "Ferris Beuller", you lose a testicle.

G: Oh, you know him.

Peter Seller in Blake Edward's The Party. The entire film.

IRONBEAR, I vote for El Dorado. Same movie, but I thought Robert Michum gave the filth a little sense of reality. Dean Martin's such a pretty wino.

Pulp Fiction. The early scene where Travolta and Jackson go into the guys' apartment. I'll be Jackson.

"Oh, I'm sorry. Did I break your concentration?"

Oh, easy one -- Belushi's famous tough-get-goin' rant from "Animal House." "Over? Did you say over? Nothing is over until we decide it is! Was it over when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor? Hell no!" "The Germans?" "Forget it -- he's rollin'."

In fact, it's actually on record that I quote this passage rather often -- with little prompting.

The scene between Richard Harris and Gene Hackman in Unforgiven. Start from the barber's chair, "Well, why not shoot a president?" and end in the mud, "I guess you think I'm kicking you Bob, but it ain't so!"

That or Val Kilmer's Doc Holiday: "I'm here Huckleberry. That's just my game."

"well, well and well my little droogies, there's been a lot of large talk behind me sleeping back"

Alex - Clockwork Orange.

Nuff said.

Inigo Montoya in "The Princess Bride." Particularly the sword-fighting scene with the Dread Pirate Roberts.

Heck, I've got the whole script memorized.

Dean Wormer:
"Fat, drunk and stupid is no way to go through life, son!"

Max von Sydow, Flash Gordon:

"Foolish mortals, hurling your bodies out-into-the-void [ph: veurd], without the slightest inkling of who-or-what-is-out-here. If you had any knowledge of the true nature of the universe, you would have hidden from it in terror [ph: tellolll]..."

Worst. Dialogue. Ever.

"Your days of finger banging Mary Rottencrotch are over!"

Or

"I'm a prickly pear!"

I can't pick one movie, I like a lot of the suggestions here. Definately one I've seen a thousand times. The Princess Bride suggestion is great, also any scene from any Monty Python. Some ones not yet suggested: UHF, the spatula commercial, or the Or Pee Wee's Big Adventure, "I say we let him go".

Another vote for "Princess Bride", but I'm torn between the poison-drinking scene and the fight between the Man and Black and the Giant. "Sleep well, and dream of laaarge women."

"You played it for her, you can play it for me."

Hustler hustler.bz

Nude Video nude-video.us
Hentai anime hentai-anime.us

Nude Black nude-black.us

Sexy Babes sexy-babes.us

Pussy Movies pussy-movies.us

Ebony Xxx ebony-xxx.us

Nude Movies nude-movies.us

Hentai Porno hentai-porno.us

Teen Hentai teen-hentai.us

Manga Porn manga-porn.us

Men Sex men-sex.us

Barely Legal Teen barely-legal-teenb.com

Gay gay-b.com

Pussy pussy-d.com

Teen teen-d.com

Porno porno-v.com

Babes babes-d.com

Video video-n.com

Amateurs Xxx amateurs-xxx.us
Gay Boy gay-boy.us

Amateur Movie amateur-movie.us

Amateur Porno amateur-porno.us

Hardcore Pussy hardcore-pussy.us

Teen Babes teen-babes.us

Men Porn men-porn.us

Gay Nude gay-nude.us

Naked Gay naked-gay.us

Amateur Lesbian amateur-lesbian.us

Lesbian Girl lesbian-girl.us

Adult Porno adult-porno.us

Sexy Lesbian sexy-lesbian.us

Anime Adult anime-adult.us

test, sorry

AmateurMatch adult dating - try it out 100% free

http://www.hotfunsingles.com/ca.html

AmateurMatch adult dating - try it out 100% free

http://www.hotfunsingles.com/ca.html

AmateurMatch adult dating - try it out 100% free

http://www.hotfunsingles.com/ca.html

AmateurMatch adult dating - try it out 100% free

http://www.hotfunsingles.com/ca.html

AmateurMatch adult dating - try it out 100% free

http://www.hotfunsingles.com/ca.html

. Domolux - .
. http://www.domolux.com.ua